The goal of this article is to guide Jira System Administrators through the installation, upgrade, disable, and uninstallation process of the User Deactivator app.

Before you begin 

You must have the Jira System Administrators global permission before you can carry out the instructions on this page.

Installing User Deactivator 

To install User Deactivator, take the following steps:

  1. Log in as a user with the Jira Administrators global permission.
  2. Click the admin drop-down and choose Atlassian Marketplace and the Manage add-ons screen loads.
    (info)
 Tip: Use Keyboard Shortcut instead: g+g and start typing manage... .
  3. Click Find new add-ons from the left-hand side of the page and locate User Deactivator via search.
The appropriate add-on version appears in the search results.
  4. Click Try free to begin a new trial or Buy now to purchase a license for User Deactivator.
 You're prompted to log into MyAtlassian. User Deactivator begins to download.
  5. Enter your information and click Generate license when redirected to MyAtlassian.
  6. Click Apply license.
    If you're using an older version of UPM, you can copy and paste the license into your Jira instance.

Upgrading User Deactivator

Follow the same steps as above for installing User Deactivator, since the old add-on version is removed from the file system, as described in the Jira documentation on Updating apps


Great! You’ve successfully install/ upgrade User Deactivator.

Getting help

To get help check out our User Deactivator documentation or contact our support.

If you are upgrading your version of Jira, you current version of User Deactivator may not be compatible with the new Jira version.
The steps to take in this case are the following:

  1. Upgrade your Jira version
  2. Upgrade to a new compatible version of User Deactivator