Below, you find information to setup GSuite/ Google Apps and our apps. If you our need help or have questions, you can contact us via our helpdesk or book a free screen share session at https://resolution.de/go/calendly.

Step-by-Step Guides

Based on your user provisioning model, pick one of the following step-by-step guides.

In most cases we recommend to use GSuite with User Sync.


Some important notes:

  • User Sync functionality is currently only available for Jira, Confluence & Bitbucket.
  • Fisheye only supports Manual User Management.

Which Step-by-Step Guide you should pick?

Depending on your Atlassian product, you can choose from different user provisioning models. We recommend using User Sync, since it is easy to setup and maintain


In general, with GSuite we support the following ways for user provisioning:

  1. User Sync allows to sync users periodically from GSuite, but also when they log in for the first time into your Atlassian product. See our detailed article for User Sync.
  2. Just in Time Provisioning allows to create and update users on-the-fly when they log in. It is not possible to send groups via SAML for GSuite. Thus, groups must be managed locally. See our detailed article for JIT.
  3. LDAP synchronisation from Active Directory. Is you instance still synchronised to your Active Directory via LDAP, you can continue to do so. Please follow the "Manual User Management" Guide in this scenario.
  4. For Manual User Management, the administrator has to has to create and update users on GSuite and your Atlassian product by hand.
    We do not recommend it. See our article for Manual User Management.


Model/FunctionAdmin EffortPro's and Con's

User Sync


Low
  • Uses GSuite API to perform regular sync
  • Users and Groups created & updated shortly after done in GSuite
  • Users can be disabled
  • Additional attributes can be written to Jira User Properties
Just in Time Provisioning

Medium,

need to manage groups locally on your product instance

  • Creates & Updates users based on information in the SAML Response during Login
  • GSuite does NOT support transmitting groups.
  • Users are only created on their first Login.
  • Users & Groups are updated only during SAML authentication.
  • Users cannot be marked disabled (as GSuite will not complete the Authentication for a deleted/disabled User)



Manual User ManagementHigh

  • Here no sync happens
  • Needs manual maintenance of 2 User bases (or is done via custom developments).



You might also find following documentation helpful: